Featured Post

It's My 2nd Blogiversary!!!|Giveaway

Friday, March 11, 2016

Sea of Shadows By Kelley Armstrong|Review


Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends #1)
Published by HarperTeen on April 8th, 2014
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Pages: 406
Format: Hardback
Rating:

Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones. Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed. But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong. With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

My Thoughts

Each year in the Forest of the Dead, the Seeker must aid the dead souls in finding their peace while the Keeper vigilantly watches for trouble. Twin sisters, Ashyn and Moria, are tasked with their first ritual, completely unaware of the dangers that lay ahead. What was supposed to be a routine mission soon turns into a fight for survival as each of Ashyn’s company quickly and mysteriously disappear. Stumbling upon an alive and healthy exile, Ashyn teams up with Ronan. Willing to put her life in his hands, the two desperately search for an escape but quickly discover how silent the village is. Meanwhile, Moria unknowingly confronts the creature responsible for the mass murder. Single-handedly taking it down in a few jabs, Moria flees, in search of her sister. Provided with misleading information the twins depart from their blood splattered village separately, in search of the village children. Gavil joins Moria on her journey. But his blunt remarks and witty jabs keep Moria from noticing his underlying intentions. Menacing mercenaries, legendary creatures, and suppressed secrets threaten to keep the twins apart as their journey takes them across the land. Filled with courage, trust, action, and family, it will sure keep you entertained and at the edge of your seat. I gave up on Armstrong's Darkest Powers series. So I was a little wary when I first began reading this book. I am extremely happy that I did not pass this book by. There's something about the medieval time period with mythical and supernatural characters that really peeks my interest. I really enjoyed the formal renaissance dialogue. It really brought the story together. And not to mention the complexity of the world building that went into this book. I was transported to another world with mythical beasts and tales of woe. My heart raced along with the words as my eyes struggled to keep up. I found myself wanting to read more from Ashyn’s point of view mainly because I could relate to her more. Plus, Ashyn and Ronan are adorable. I loved how incredibly different the personalities between the twins were. It made it easy to distinguish the two apart when they shared scenes. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I cannot put my thoughts into words right now. I must read the second book now!

No comments:

Post a Comment